Enslaved

as you’re taking yourself out of my mind
as you pretend to sacrifice, and act kind
i sit here watching my precious find
this rage, that drove me blind
i wish to keep it!

i wish i could see what you see,
i pray that there’s
no such thing as eternity
for i wish to end this soon
this tragedy
of lost souls

fear returns with joy-
a clever decoy
and i fall down on my knees
unable to cry
i’ve shed them tears before!
enough to leave me dry
and now,
walking with this
cute little disguise,
i’m just a puppet
dancing without strings
i’m just a slave
to what life brings
following the memories
of the tugs and pulls,
the torture and the lulls
i find myself missing them again.

i paid for freedom

still paying the cost.

Of all the things i’ve bought,

freedom cost me the most!

One thought on “Enslaved

Leave a Reply

