a second chance – for the thousandth time (revised)

Just added the last two stanzas to the first one. 

The things i owned,
were broken down,
shattered to pieces,
and scattered around

and… those that didn’t break
were considered fake
carefully collected,
and tied to the stake

i see my heart
in the pile of trash
thumping the music
for the fiery feast

thump thump… there it goes
thump thump… a clever act
thump thump… a clever atone
after all, it is made of stone.

thump thump…a seductive dance
thumpy thump…into the trance
thump thump…it goes on –
the beating of the stone heart!

a thousand oaths,
and a thousand escaped clearance
and thump thump… it goes, again,
awaiting, the second chance!

3 thoughts on “a second chance – for the thousandth time (revised)

  1. My heart feels busy tonight
    It feels like a roaring truck
    Moving down the freeway
    It tumbles and rumbles
    Clunk, clunk, clunk
    Goes the beat of my heart
    It rattles and rolls
    Timber wood is what I’m carrying
    Carrying it across town
    And down hills
    Through meadows and under passage ways
    It hurts sitting up in the passengers seat
    Gotta beat the clock
    Gotta make it on time
    Where’s my destination
    That I cannot find
    Gotta unload now
    Unload my heart
    Carrying away my burden
    The heaviness of the wooden logs
    Going down the freeway
    Away , away, away, I go.

  2. “It hurts sitting up in the passengers seat” – i can feel the pain

    I read the entire poem with goosebumps. I love how you ended it. I could hear the fading sound “Away , away, away, I go”.

    Thanks.

Leave a Reply

